#6 Coffee Addiction Advocate

Coffee and I go way back. I have a father who is a writer, a mother who is a professor of musicology. A normal day at our house (to be exact, an apartment. But pretty much everyone lives in apartments in Korea and “house” sounds more homey than calling it an “apartment”) requires at least 15 shots of espressos. The first shot goes to my dad. It’s absolutely unpredictable when he would be waking up. Let’s say 3 a.m. for this one. My dad would wake up at 3 a.m and turn on our so beloved espresso machine for his first cup of Americano before turning on his desktop. Our espresso machine would gurgle, crunch the beans, ooze down the hot and fresh brown liquid of goodness, and let its fragrance overflow all over our home. Yet my mom and I’ve been immuned to its sound of art for as long as I remember. We would never wake up till the sun comes up. The second shot goes to my mom’s morning coffee around 8 a.m. By this time my dad has something he has written over the night that he wants to share and discuss about with my mom. So he would make himself another cup of coffee and share the morning glory with my mom. That’s three shots so far. I would be half-awake on my bed as I hear the sound of the espresso machine and my parents’ voices start tickling my ears. But more than my ears, it’s my nose. When my nose get itchy by the smell of two rich cups of coffee, that’s when I wake up and get ready for the day. I would go straight to say hi to my mom, dad, and the espresso machine: shot number 5. Before it hits 10 a.m, my parents and I already consume at least 5 cups of coffee. The rest, I’m going to leave it up to you to imagine.

IMG_9616

A cup of Latté that i made for myself at home on a fine afternoon

So when I see people criticizing/warning the coffee addicts like this article, my heart kind of cringe a little. So here is the defense I found for all my fellow coffee lovers (click here to go to the direct website).

1. Two cups of coffee can cut post-workout muscle pain by up to 48%. From the Journal of Pain, March 2007

2. A cup of brewed coffee represents a contribution of up to 1.8 grams of fiber of the recommended intake of 20-38 grams. From the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry

3. Protection against cirrhosis of the liver. Of course you could just cut down on the alcohol intake. From the Archives of Internal Medicine

4. Those who consumed 6 or more cups per day had a 22% lower risk of diabetes. From the Archives of Internal Medicine

5. There is considerable evidence that caffeine may protect against Alzheimer’s disease. From the European Journal of Neurology

6. 10 year study of 86,000 female nurses show a reduced risk of suicide in the coffee drinkers. From the Archives of Internal Medicine

7. People with Parkinson’s disease are less likely to be smokers and coffee drinkers than their healthy siblings. Just make sure you don’t get lung cancer on the way. From the Archives of Neurology

More than anything, I appreciate coffee the most for giving us the space and time to talk with one another. There are so many conversations and friendships that bloomed simply because we had two cups of coffee on the table in front of us. I can’t give up on that, can I?

One thought on “#6 Coffee Addiction Advocate

  1. Pingback: In Today’s News: Breaking Bad, Sexting, Government Shutdown, and more | A Daily Miracle

Leave a Reply

